Mihael Mohorčič

Networked Embedded Systems Laboratory (NESL), head

Dr. Mihael Mohorcic (DrSc in ElecEng from University of Ljubljana, 2002) is head of the Department of Communication Systems and Scientific Advisor at the Jozef Stefan Institute, and associate professor at the Jozef Stefan International Postgraduate School. His research and working experience include development and performance evaluation of network protocols and architectures for mobile and wireless communication systems, and resource management in terrestrial, stratospheric and satellite networks. His recent research interest is focused on cognitive radio networks, cross-layer protocol design and optimization, “smart” applications of wireless sensor networks, dynamic composition of communication services and wireless experimental testbeds. He participated in several COST actions and FP projects considering terrestrial & satellite mobile communications, stratospheric telecommunication systems and wireless sensor networks, as well as in basic and applied national projects. Currently he is involved in three ongoing FP7 projects (CITI-SENSE, Fed4FIRE, SUNSEED) and one H2020 project (eWINE); and he leads a national applied research project on advanced ray-tracing techniques in radio environment characterization and radio localization (L2-7664). He is author or co-author of more than 140 refereed journal and conference papers, co-author of two books published by John Wiley & Sons, contributor to 9 book chapters (5 published by Springer) and co-author of one US patent. He regularly serves as Technical Program Committee member to various international conferences and workshops, is a member of editorial board of the Electrotechnical Review (ISSN: 0013-5852) and of the International Journal of Distributed Sensor Networks (ISSN: 1550-1329), and was a guest editor to the Special issue on research methodologies for performance evaluation of wireless network solutions in EURASIP Journal on Wireless Communications and Networking (ISSN 1687-1472). He is Senior Member of IEEE (VTS and ComSoc).